You are here: Homepage > Archive > Scottish Readers

Scottish Readers

< back | Homepage

Read mor… on relax

Time to unwind with these indulgent reads selected by other site users. To make your own suggestion for a book to escape with, click here.

The Orchard on Fire by Shena MacKay

The Orchard on Fire

By Shena MacKay

One of the best evocations of childhood you are ever likely to read. April and Ruby spend the long summer holiday exploring their home village. The sense of time and place (Kent in the 1950's) is so convincingly created that you can smell the cut grass and hear the insects hum. But this is no rural idyll - danger lurks in many guises.

Lady Kate by Pamela Hill

Lady Kate

By Pamela Hill

In a historical novel in the tradition of Dorothy Dunnett and Nigel Tranter, Pamela Hill introduces us to Lady Kate Gordon, beloved of King James IV and of many other men.

A Kiss from Maddalena by Christopher Castellani

A Kiss from Maddalena

By Christopher Castellani

A delightful, warm and affectionate wartime story, set in Italy, for all those romantics who yearn for a happy resolution. If you liked Captain Corelli's Mandolin, you'll enjoy this.

Our treat

Leave it to us! You provide the comfy chair and we’ll provide an indulgent escape from the daily grind. Just click here and then collect our choice for you from your nearest library….

Not happy with your selection? Click here to try again.